Horrible Fuel Mileage

First off I'm a ford dealership mechanic, I used to do it all, "except" go into transmissions.

OK so follow along....on my 2005 corolla LE with the 1zz engine, I usually got around 30-32mpg city driving.
I do very good maintenance on it, i use mobile1 synthetic SINCE 10k miles. with the oil changes done every time the light comes on, using toyota oil filters.
I drain and fill trans with toyota t -type fluid (as indicated on trans dipstick) every 30k miles, and I Drain and fill radiator using toyota red LL coolant every 30k miles also...(its what they gave my the first time i bought coolant from toyota parts, it not the pink stuff).
my tires are michelin tires kept around 40 psi(44 is max rated) rotated about 2 times a year, they have no abnormal wear pattern. So I know its not poor maintenance on the car
So...
I noticed that in 2012 that my fuel milage dropped a few mpg from around 29-31 down to 27-29 mpg.
Then over the summer of 2013 i got 25-27 mpg, then in september of 2013 i got a 24mpg. This all has been a gradual decline in fuel economy, calculated by filling up the tank, resetting the tripometer, driving till the tank is on E, then refilling and dividing the gallons by the miles.
I have around 97000 miles on it now in january 2014.

My check engine light would come on once a year in winter and it was the 02 sensor heater code...it would go away in a few days so i never bothered to change it.

Back around sept of 2013, i was concerned about my milege, so i read on the internet that the intake gaskets get hard and let air past the gasket, so i did toyota intake gasket, and the throttle body gasket, cleaned the throttle body butterfly and i put a denso 02 sensor on it . and put denso iridium spark plugs

Ok now in january of 2014 i'm getting 20 mpg... i noticed on my scan tool my coolant temp is only getting to 185deg. F ,