Replacing the stock tires soon, what should I get?

Greetings y'all! I am a complete noob when it comes to knowledge about tires. I'm currently running on the stock set of Firestones that the 2015 S+ comes with and am coming up on 40k miles, 5k mine and 35k the previous owners. I have begun to notice why people on this forum give the stock tires title of "Craptastic"... My uncle's 98 IS300 rides smoother, and he hasn't replaced those tires in years!

Anywho, I'm looking around for a tire that fits what I need: I live in Houston so it needs to do well in hot weather and rain. 80% of the roads here do not match, so they need to hold up if they come into contact with bumps and variations in the road at 40+mph. I am a fan of the low-profile look of the current tires, so nothing too big (but I am open minded about this). I don't need extreme smoothness (I do prefer some amount of feedback to the steering wheel) but I do want to cut down on how much noise transfers to the cabin because, at the moment, playing music at a volume level of 30 only drowns out like 60% of the total noise!

My research is leaning towards either Toyo Proxes or Continental PureContact; but I don't have much info to go on so I'd love some input from y'all since a lot of you seem to know what you're talking about! I would really appreciate it!

Are you just upgrading the tires, no rims?
I'm at least going +2 from the stock 16" LE rims. Looking at Enkei Kojin 18x8 or the Strada Calore 18x8 and I'll probably stick with Goodyear or something that Costco has lol.

rk97

I drive a lot. On the highway. In a straight line.

I bought the cheapest no-name tires I could find. I swear it was less than $250 installed for all 4... They've been great. What tire you need really depends on how you drive, and what you expect.