2012 Corolla - Oil Change Decreased MPG

I changed the oil in my 2012 corolla roughly two weeks ago, and ever since, my MPG significantly changed. I used to get around 30-35 mpg and now I get roughly around 20 MPG or even less. Is there any way the oil change could have caused this? could there be something else going on with my car? if so, what could it be?

Thanks for all your help!

As you can clearly tell, I'm new to driving and to corollas :'(

Scott O'Kashan

Super Moderator
Welcome to the Corolla Forum! :thumbsup::clap::):thumbup::thumbup1::balloon: :rockon:

Those are wildly fluctuating MPG's.

How are you calculating the miles per gallon?

Last edited:

Kev250R

This is my other car
I doubt the change in MPG is related to the recent oil change, my guess would be a low tire. I've found the TPMS in my Corolla leaves a bit to be desired.

If the tire pressures all check-out reach-down and feel each of the wheels after a drive at highway speeds. If one wheel is significantly warmer than the others that could be a sign of a failing wheel bearing or dragging brake, both of which will cause MPG's to drop.

Lastly check the engine air filter, a dirty one will cause MPG's to drop, but it generally doesn't happen quite that quickly or that dramatically.

Good luck!

Kevin

Welcome to the Corolla Forum! :thumbsup::clap::):thumbup::thumbup1::balloon: :rockon:

Those are wildly fluctuating mpg's.

How are you calculating the miles per gallon?
Well, I may be calculating it wrong, but before the oil change, my gas tank would only go down 1/12 of a tank when driving to work. Today, it went down more than 1/8 of a tank by the time I got to work.

Scott O'Kashan

Super Moderator
Calculate the actual MPG. Guessing isn't accurate. There are many, many factors that affect fuel economy. As long as you didn't change the engine from the 0W-20 synthetic motor oil it's supposed to have to a 20W-50 petroleum motor oil, an oil change will not affect fuel economy so drastically.