Car Running Worse With New 02 Sensor

First of all, hello everyone. This seems to be a very informative board, and I'm looking forward to learning and contributing.

Here's the story. I have a 1999 Prizm with 150,000 miles on it. The car has been dead reliable. I have been driving the car with a check engine light on for the last 2 years. I knew it was the primary 02 sensor (upstream). Recently, I decided to go ahead and replace it since the light finally annoyed me.

I replaced the 02 sensor with a Bosch unit. The check engine light went away. Beautiful. However the car started running strangely. It would stutter and skip a few beats when starting from a stop. It would even hesitate to shift (3 speed automatic). I would have to play with the accelerator for the car to "catch" and accelerate/shift normally. No codes were thrown. One thing I did notice was at wide open throttle, it always caught and accelerated like normal.

At this point, I figure it is ignition related. Replaced plug wires and plugs. Same problem. The only thing that had changed between the car running right and not running right was the 02 sensor. I tried unplugging the battery overnight. Problem is still there. At this point, I figured I got a bad 02 sensor. So I returned it and got another brand new sensor. Same problem. At this point, I unplugged the 02 sensor just to make sure I wasn't going crazy. Check engine light comes back on, and the car runs beautifully again.

Any ideas? Any help and input is appreciated.

I dont know if your car have the MAF sensor. If it is there try to clean it with MAF sensor cleaner (dont use other cleaners). The ECU stores the data while you drive. As you were driving with out the sensor so the best readings are stored. You need to drive it a lil bit to see the effect. The data should be erased as you unplugged the wires overnight. May be its not.