DIY Overhaul at 232,000 Miles. Couple questions/concerns before re-assembly.

ocod

Love this car, decided to hang my hammer (framer/carpenter full time) for a week and try to save her myself after studying the 2zr engine for weeeeeeeks, to the point my life became a waking fever dream. I'm not a mechanic, have barely done more than plug, filter, oil, tire changes myself. I am, however, mechanically inclined, and have a knack for picking up on things quickly. So I went out and bought myself $300 in tools and prep equipment, and an additional $700-800 in various replacement parts. Been dealing with some newly developed chain slap over the past few months and eventually started getting misfire codes for #1 and #2. Suspected a blown head gasket and confirmed break across the fire rings of those 2 suspect cylinders.

Parts to be replaced:
Timing Chain, Tensioner, Guides, all sprockets excluding VVT Phasers (they are still fully functional and expensive to replace so I'm keeping em in).
Water Pump, Thermostat, Serp Belt
Head Gasket, Head Bolts
Oil Pump
Cam and Crank Position Sensors
Spark Plugs
All Gaskets and Seals and O-Rings accessible during this particular overhaul

Detail work:
Coolant flush and replace
ATF drain and refill (too old to flush I fear)
Valves cleaned and polished and hand lapped into freshly machined seats
Basic cleaning and detail work across the whole top end of engine from the tiny little oil control valve filter to the intake and exhaust ports.