First Oil Change

Hey Guys, due for my first oil change, Went to buy my filter and noticed it was a paper filter. Is it a must to purchase a special tool to remove the canister? If so, what is the correct name of the tool, and where is the best place to purchase this? I am in Ontario, Canada. Also, I have read to becareful of a safety clip around the filter when removing?
Sorry, Im new to this canister type filters.
2014 Corolla S (manual)

Your Toyota dealership can provide you with the proper tool. Any decent auto parts store should be able to as well.

Make sure to use the correct 0W-20 synthetic motor oil.

Regarding the "safety clip", I've seen videos where people try to move it, or bend it out of the way. In my experience doing oil changes on my car, the clip doesn't interfere with anything and does not need to be be bent, etc.

Didn't you get 2 years of ToyotaCare with your new Corolla? That includes free oil changes. I thought all new 2014 Toyota vehicles get the 2 year deal included.

Never mind. I just saw in another thread that you prefer to do your own oil changes.

Last edited:
Didn't you get 2 years of ToyotaCare with your new Corolla? That includes free oil changes. I thought all new 2014 Toyota vehicles get the 2 year deal included.

Never mind. I just saw in another thread that you prefer to do your own oil changes.
I had the option for 5 free oil changes, but it was only included if i purchased the premium warranty package that extends your warranty up to 280,000 km's.

Regarding the "safety clip", I've seen videos where people try to move it, or bend it out of the way. In my experience doing oil changes on my car, the clip doesn't interfere with anything and does not need to be be bent, etc.
So once I get this special tool, the cannister screws off like a traditional oil filter, and I dont need to worry about that clip? What is the purpose of that clip anyways?