1993 Corolla Front Struts Problem

hi all, complete newb so bare with me. i have a 93 corolla 1.3 and bought both front struts (no springs just the struts). problem is, 1 is a monroe and seems to be easy'ish to push down by hand. the other is made by boge and seems to be slightly harder to push down. i always thought that both would perform in the same way, but as im not a suspension person i was wondering if anyone could shed some light on this wierd situation. many thanks in advance.....karl:furious:

Scott O'Kashan

Super Moderator
Welcome to the Corolla Forum! :thumbup1::clap::thumbup::):party::balloon:

Struts from two different manufacturers are going to be different, just as tires are different, etc.

cheers. it just seems weird that 2 brand new units, made to fit the same car, but 1 is a little bit sloppy compared to the other strut.

Scott O'Kashan

Super Moderator
There are many products that are made to fit the same car; tires, oil filters, air filters, spark plugs, etc., etc., etc., but being manufactured by different companies they are all different.

It is not recommended to use two different struts from two different manufacturers on the same car. This can lead to unbalanced and dangerous handling.

-- Monroe Certified Ride Expert

Who's the guy that actually sold you two struts of a different brand? That is like getting Kevlar brake pads on one side and cheap organic on the other side.

Rule of thumb is to never, EVER, mismatch parts between the left and right side, and to replace those parts together. Always.

Monroe is easier to push down because it is designed for ride comfort.

Boge is harder to push down because it is designed for slightly improved cornering, although springs and sway-bars have a larger impact on the way a car handles than the stiffness of the struts.

front struts