2012 Toyota Corolla Brake Fluid Change

Hi my name's William. I'm new to the Toyota Corolla Forum. I live in Canada, and my service manual tells me to replace the brake fluid at 64,000 kilometers. I've downloaded service manuals from the States, and they say just top ups are required. What is correct?

I bought the 2012 Corolla, manual tranny, brand new, and every year I service it with Krown rust protection. I use the car for delivery jobs and put on about 14,000 miles per year. How good are these Corollas? How reliable are they? What kind of high mileage can you put on them? Thank you.

They are pretty reliable. How does the fluid look? If it is still relatively clear and the brake pedal is accurate, then you will be fine. If you have a spongy pedal and brown fluid, I'd do a flush.

If you have a friend helping you out, you can remove a brake line (I usually do the rear passenger side first since that is the longest line). Remove the brake line, and while you are draining the fluid, have a friend start adding in fresh fluid in to keep the reservoir full. Communication is key. The filler needs to tell you when to plug the line while he opens up a new bottle if one gets empty, and you need to tell him to stop adding when you see fresh fluid come out of the line and re-connect the brake line or he'll spill it and damage paintwork.

Bleed that line until no air comes out, bleed the rear driver-side until fresh fluid comes out, then the front passenger side, then the front driver side (basically, you start with the longest line and work your way to the shortest line).