CEL P0420; Steps for Diagnosis

I'm new to the Corolla Forum. I currently am a member of the Taco forum and it provides amazing useful information. So thanks in advance to all those that manage this forum and to those that contribute so we can all learn and save money.

Wife's Corolla:
2002 CE auto 86K miles

The CEL came on a few weeks ago. The dreaded P0420. I decided to start at the front of this potential problem and clean the MAF sensor. Light came back on so I'm assuming the signal there for air:fuel is fine.

My next step will be to compare the voltage of the upstream and downstream O2 sensors. I'm assuming this will check out. If there was an O2 sensor problem then there would be a CEL code for that, right?

I'm finding it hard to believe that an O2 sensor or catalytic converter has gone bad in 86K miles. What do you think?

What would be the next step for diagnosis if the O2 sensors and cat converter check out? Exhaust leaks? What else?

Thanks a ton for advice and direction.

Scott O'Kashan

Super Moderator
Welcome to the Corolla Forum! :thumbsup::clap::):thumbup::thumbup1::balloon: :rockon:

You are quite welcome for the help this great forum provides. There are a lot of super people here that enjoy helping others with their cars. Hats off to them! :thumbsup:

Below is the troubleshooting chart for the P0420 trouble code. Note it doesn't list an oxygen sensor as one of the possible causes.

Over the 86,000 mile life of your car, have the spark plugs ever been replaced? If not, it would be a good idea to visually check them. That's a long way for a spark plug to go. If they need replacing, I strongly recommend NGK spark plugs.

Here is a link to the NGK spark plug chart that shows you what good or bad spark plugs look like -

http://ngksparkplugs.com/tech_support/spark_plugs/faqs/faqread.asp

Here is an NGK video showing you how to read a spark plug -

If the catalytic converter is bad, I do believe they have a 100,000 mile warranty.