How to: P/S Fluid Flush (9th Gen)

*Disclaimer: Neither myself nor this forum and it's owners are responsible for any damage and/or injuries directly or indirectly due to following this guide. I am NOT a professional automotive mechanic.*

Alrighty, now that I've covered my a**, this guide can begin. I am a professional semi-tractor and trailer (18 wheeler) technician with certifications from both ASE and manufacturers. I also sell AMSOIL to make some side money.

This was conducted on my 2006 Toyota Corolla CE with the 1ZZ-FE engine. At the end of this post, I'll explain how and why this flushes the fluid from the system.

Tools needed to complete this job:
-Drain Pan
-~4 ft 3/8" Inside Diameter Hose (Vacuum hose is cheapest)
-Hose clamp pliers (or slip joints)
-Zip tie
-~2 QTs of fluid. My vehicle uses ATF+3 in the power steering system. I used AMSOIL Signature Series ATF.
-A funnel or good hand-eye coordination

Step 1: Locate P/S Fluid Reservoir. If your reservoir is directly on top of the P/S pump then it will have 1 hose on it. We will call this the return hose. If your P/S Reservoir is external from the pump (like it is on the 1ZZ-FE) then it will have 2 hoses on it (Suction and return). The suction hose is the larger hose, it will also be towards the bottom of the reservoir. The return hose will be above the suction hose and be significantly smaller. Those 2 statements are true for any hydraulic system that has an external reservoir.

Step 2: Remove the RETURN hose from the reservoir. Prevent fluid from exiting the reservoir. This can be done using a hose and zip tying it upwards so that the top of the hose is above the reservoir. On my engine, I simply left the U-shaped hose on the reservoir, removed it from the plastic line and routed it upwards. (See picture)