LOCATION OF THE HEADERS

I'm new to my corolla s but the engine is completely different from my prior 02 altima with the headers being conveniently in the front, but i expected that... are the headers behind the engine?? ...will i have to lift my car to efficiently access them???

What on earth is a header and is it important to me?
Its the reason the exhaust is in the back. :p I 'm no car pro, but its directs the gas/smoke/whatever you wanna call it to the back of the car via exhaust, or else those gas/smoke/heat/whateveryouwanna call it would be all under the hood which is bad, since you want cool air for the intake. (Sorry if that doesn't make sense lol, kinda ninja at work.)

Its the reason the exhaust is in the back. :p I 'm no car pro, but its directs the gas/smoke/whatever you wanna call it to the back of the car via exhaust, or else those gas/smoke/heat/whateveryouwanna call it would be all under the hood which is bad, since you want cool air for the intake. (Sorry if that doesn't make sense lol, kinda ninja at work.)
A different header either in a 4-2-1 or a 4-1 configuration can increase HP. Boom! This guy with a video explanation!

My man to the rescue lol.
I enjoy his videos, he does explain the theories of car mechanics very well. The only things I do not like is when he says that certain things increase HP when he doesn't show any tangible proof. Other than that, his channel is filled to the brim with very very informative videos.

It all depends on the engine design. Some have intake on front some have it on back. Normally the exhaust (headers) will be on the other side of the intake. On the 1.8 Corolla the intake is in the front and exhaust in the rear. There may be a way to rotate the engine forward a bit to get better access to the rear of it but I don't know the procedure off hand.

Jlinn